Favorite Beauty Products, Brianne Heredia

Favorite Beauty Products

I am an amateur when it comes to applying beauty products and knowing exactly what works with my skin and color. However, I LOVE talking beauty products with friends, I watch tons of YouTube videos to get the application right and see what others have to say about products that did and didn’t work for them (my channel is still in the works). While I’m still constantly learning about new products, techniques, and myself, I have managed to scramble up some of my favorites. These are the products that make me look twice in the mirror at myself because they’re the best I’ve tried to far.

Beauty profile recap: I’m half Japanese, half Mexican. I have normal to dry skin. Dry skin being directed at my forehead area and chin. I did start to remove the darker hair on my face for better makeup application and so that skincare products can better adhere and soak in my skin. I have hereditary dark circles under my eyes that cannot necessarily be remedied by products, only covered up.

Beauty Fave #1: MAC Mineralize Skin Finish in Soft and Gentle 

I bought this maybe 2 years ago and I still have it! This product  lasts such a long time, I kid you not. I wear this product on a daily basis because it’s not super strong, at least when applied with a brush. It gives me just the right amount of lit from within glow. It doesn’t look chalky or white on my darker skin since it’s a champagne color. If you want to build the intensity, you can apply it directly to your face with your fingers or fix plus on a brush. I have never tried strobing, but I imagine it could work with that too.

Beauty Fave #2: Laura Mercier Translucent Setting Powder

Yes, everyone and their mother mentions this product. Why? Because it’s freaking amazing, that’s why. One of the few gems that doesn’t look white on camera even though it has talc in it. It never looks cakey, even when I try to “bake” with it nor does it feel heavy on the face. It’s so finely milled that it gives you an airbrushed effect on the skin. Their website claims that it contains “unique light-reflecting ingredient that creates a ‘soft-focus’ appearance for fine lines and imperfections”. Honestly, I feel like it does just that. I don’t think I have a major fine line  problem on my face, but I do have a crease right under one of my eyes, and it doesn’t make it look so apparent, which I love!

Beauty Fave #3: Maybelline Volum’ Express The Falsies Push Up Drama Mascara

Maybelline always has long ass names for their products. Luckily, that’s the only thing I’m not fond of about this product. Other than that, this product is one of my favorite mascaras I’ve tried. I’ve never been into high end mascaras and I’ve tried a ton of other drugstore mascaras, but this is one that I loved since the day I bought it. The bristles on the brush are rubber and thin. This means it grasps my lashes well and prevents major clumps from happening. Other mascaras I’ve tried end up smudging or transferring under my eyes after a long day, which is a pain. I don’t use this in the waterproof formula, yet it stays put all day. It evenly coats my lashes and makes them dark, long, and volumized.

Beauty Fave #4: MAC Strobe Cream

My best friends, Nicole and Jennifer, introduced this product to me. The Strobe Cream from MAC is morning dew in a bottle. I love how this looks underneath my foundation. My skin tends to look dull throughout the day, but adding this little gem into my routine amps up my game. It’s supposed to be a moisturizer that has tiny iridescent particles that gives you a lit from within glow. I used to be all about a matte face but realized that it just doesn’t work for my dull skin. Adding a little dew to my face makes me look more fresh faced and awake!

Beauty Fave #4: MAC Pro Longwear Paint Pot in Soft Ochre

Nicole introduced this one to me too! She loves MAC, obviously, but all of her suggestions haven’t been wrong. It’s probably the reason why MAC has been around for so long! This stuff beats the eye shadow primers I’ve tried. Everyone raves about the Urban Decay eye shadow primers, but I didn’t like them. This stuff is under the eye shadow category in MAC which is why I never thought of trying it. The formula is smooth, not cakey, however, it does have great coverage on my lids. It cancels out any discoloration on my lids so that my eyes shadow pops. This product with your eye shadow on top mixed with MAC Fix Plus definitely intensifies any colored eye shadow. I never used to wear eye shadow all that much, but since I got the paint pot in Soft Ochre, I haven’t been a day without some on!

Beauty Fave #5: Origins Drink Up Intensive Overnight Face Mask 

Drink Up™ Intensive

Jennifer got me this for my birthday and I’ve been obsessed ever since. She always hears me complain about my damn dry forehead that itches like crazy during the day but especially at night. This product is supposed to be an overnight mask that you are only required to wear 3 times a week. I slather this on my face, with most attention to my forehead, every night before I go to sleep. It seriously helps prevent me from going Kujo on my  face. I’ve seen a very positive reaction in my skin using this product mixed with drinking more water every day. The ingredients are amazing too what with Japanese seaweed, apricot kernels, and avocado oil.

Makeup is a form of art to some, but for me  it’s really just a way to feel like my best self. Women and men should never feel they have to set beauty standards for themselves based on what other people say, but we also shouldn’t shame them for doing what makes them feel happy and comfortable. My makeup regime makes me feel complete and ready for my day. I feel confident and glad I can experiment with different looks if I want to.

These are my top picks right now and I love them for their unique qualities. My skin is high maintenance, but these products work for me. Thank you friends for sharing similar interests and recommending a majority of these products.

xoxo

Leave a comment