Home for the Holidays

Last week, Alex and I travelled back home to see our families for the Christmas holidays. It was a great 5 day trip, I ate a ton, laughed a lot, felt lots of love, and got to spend quality time with my close family and friends. Five days just wasn’t enough for the both of us, but we needed to get back to reality.

So far it has been just about six months since Alex and I made the big move. We’ve gotten used to the city, our apartment, and our lifestyle together. So much so that when we went home for the holidays, it didn’t feel much like our home anymore. Both of our old rooms were bare and none of our toiletries were in our bathrooms anymore. It makes me somewhat emotional, as if a piece of me isn’t home anymore. I only hope that my dogs remember me every time I make a trip back.

Coming back to SF after our 5 day trip back to LA, Alex and I both felt this sense of relief, like we are where we’re supposed to be. Our stuff is here, our food, our bed, our new home. I think we agreed that this place is finally starting to feel normal and good. The only thing missing, that we always miss, is our family and friends.

It really is difficult to change your habits, like moving to a new city. What you’re used to always feels like home, so when you have to suddenly deviate from that, it feels like something isn’t right. Maybe that’s why we don’t like change. We’re afraid of not feeling like ourselves anymore or feeling like we’re not in control. I have to remember all the times I’ve changed my routine, whether it be starting a completely new job or starting college, I survived and managed to get myself through it. All those new experiences made me a better person, allowed me to meet awesome people, and gain great knowledge that I didn’t have before.

We will always dread trying something new, but we always have to remember that we’ve been through it before so we need not to be afraid. I don’t need things to prove where my home is. I  always believe that saying,”home is where the heart is.” My home is with Alex, here in San Francisco, but it’s also back in SoCal with my family and friends, it’s in Seattle with my sister and brother in law, it’s in Nevada with my aunty and uncle. The ones I love have my heart and wherever they are, is my home.

Happy Holidays and Happy New Year!

xoxo

2 thoughts on “Home for the Holidays

  1. Penny Heredia says:

    I love your words! You and a wonderful woman Brianne don’t ever forget that. Uncle and I love you very much and Alex. Our home is always open to you any time you two want to get away.
    Love you to the moon and back.

    Aunt Penny

    Like

Leave a comment